Miss South Africa 1960 results: Moya Meaker crowns Denise Muir


South African Pictorial held Miss South Africa in 1923, which was won by Doris Gwendoline Heliwell with W. J. van Blommestein and Marjorie Elizabeth Cowley as the respective first and second princesses. In 1943, Susie Smuts became the second woman to hold the title.

Norma Vorster won the first official Miss South Africa competition in 1956. It was open to white females only.

  • beauty pageant: Miss South Africa
  • edition: 5th
2nd princessStella PitheyKitty Green
1st princessDorothy FarquharSophie Pieters
Miss South AfricaDenise MuirMoya Meaker
(Cape Province)


  • beauty pageant: Miss World
  • edition: 10th
  • venue: Lyceum Ballroom, London, England, United Kingdom
  • date: November 8, 1960
  • candidates: 39
Denise MuirMiss World 1960
second runner-up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.