Miss South Africa 1968 results: Disa Duivestein crowns Mitsianna Stander


South African Pictorial held Miss South Africa in 1923, which was won by Doris Gwendoline Heliwell with W. J. van Blommestein and Marjorie Elizabeth Cowley as the respective first and second princesses. In 1943, Susie Smuts became the second woman to hold the title.

However, it was Norma Vorster who won the first official Miss South Africa competition in 1956. It was open to white females only.

  • beauty pageant: Miss South Africa
  • edition: 13th
2nd princessPatsy GoswellTiny de Lange
1st princessLinda CollettMary McDonald
Miss South AfricaMitsianna “Mitzi” Stander
(Transvaal Province)
Disa Duivestein
(Natal Province)


  • beauty pageant: Miss World
  • edition: 18th
  • venue: Lyceum Ballroom, London, England, United Kingdom
  • date: November 14, 1968
  • candidates: 53
Mitsianna StanderTransvaal Province,
South Africa
19Miss World 1968

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.