‘Underground’ director Daniel R. Palacio: This humbles me in every way

Written and directed by Daniel R. Palacio, “Underground” will premiere at the San Sebastian International Film Festival 2017 in Spain in September. It is the only film from the Philippines included in the New Directors section of the top Spanish-speaking film event in the world.

Palacio’s mentor Brillante Mendoza executive produced “Underground.” The 2009 Cannes Film Festival Best Director also served as a creative consultant of the film along with master screenwriter Armando “Bing” Lao.

“As a new director, representing the Philippines in a major international film festival humbles me in every way,” Palacio said in a statement exclusively obtained by Conan Daily. “The selection validates Filipino craftsmanship and talent along with the best filmmakers around the world. With my mentor, Brillante Mendoza, by my side, hoisting the country flag couldn’t be any sweeter.”

“Underground” stars Joem Bascon and Mara Lopez. Joining them in the main cast are Grace Ann Betalmos, Lou Veloso, Ryan Sandoval, Jun Nayra and Jalyn Taboneknek.

Mendoza’s proteges Elijah Filamor, Conan Altatis, Gay Quililan and Lito Capina are also in the supporting cast. Salmon Macarambon, Maria Celiza Maglaque and JR Aguila play supporting roles, as well.

Among the people behind “Underground” are Carlo Valenzona as the producer, Vangie Torcino as the production manager and Antonio del Rosario as the location manager. Also in the team are Charita “Ninay” Castinlag as the assistant director, Rommel Sales as the director of photography, Kiko de Guzman as the art director, Kyla Domingo as the crowd director,  Joshua Reyles as the technical director, Harley Alcasid as the production designer, Ruffa Lovino as the make-up artist, Albert Michael Idioma as the sound designer, Diego Marx Dobles as the editor and Maria Teresa Barrozo as the musical scorer.

In the New Directors section of the SSIFF 2017, “Underground” will compete against 12 other films. Three are also from Asia, which are “A Fish out of Water” by Lai Kuo-an from Taiwan, “From Where We’ve Fallen” by Wang Feifei from China and “The Seeds of Violence” by Lim Tae-Gue from South Korea, while two are from France, namely  “The Price of Success” by Teddy Lussi-Modeste and “The Sower” by Marine Francen.

Representing various countries are “Princesita” by Marialy Rivas from Chile, Spain and Argentina, “Cargo” by Gilles Coulier from Belgium, Netherlands and France and “Matar a Jesús” by Laura Mora from Colombia and Argentina. The other entries are “Alberto García-Alix, La línea de la sombra” by Nicolás Combarro from Spain, “Blue My Mind” by Lisa Bruehlmann from Switzerland, “Ravens” by Jens Assur from Sweden and “Tigre” by Silvina Schnicer Schlieman and Ulises Porra Guardiola from Argentina.

Have a glimpse of the 13 entries for the New Directors section of SSIFF 2017 here:


1 reply »

  1. I see your page needs some fresh content. Writing
    manually takes a lot of time, but there is tool for this boring task, search for;
    Wrastain’s tools for content


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.