8 MMFF 2017 films announced

On Nov. 17, the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee officially released the complete list of entries. Here is the list of the eight final films:


FILM: “Almost is not Enough”

PRODUCERS: Quantum and MJM Productions

DIRECTOR: Dan Villegas

CAST: Jennylyn Mercado, Derek Ramsay, Solenn Heussaff, Kean Cipriano, Enzo Marcos, Lyn Cruz


FILM: “Ang Larawan”

PRODUCER: Culturtrain Musicat Productions

DIRECTOR: Loy Arcenas

CAST: Rachel Alejandro, Joanna Ampil, Paulo Avelino, Zsa Zsa Padilla,  Ogie Alcasid, Nonie Buencamino,  Sandino Martin, Cris Villonco, Aicelle Santos, Celeste Legaspi, Menchu Lauchengco Yulo


FILM: “Ang Panday”

PRODUCER: CCM Creative Productions Inc.

DIRECTOR: Coco Martin

CAST: Coco Martin, Jake Cuenca, Gloria Romero, Jaime Fabregas, Awra Briguela, Julio Diaz, Elisse Joson, McCoy de Leon, Nayomi Ramos, Enzo Pelojero, James Sagarino, Agot Isidro, Albert Martinez, Eddie Garcia, John Medina, John Prats, Joonee Gamboa, Kylie Versoza, Lester Llansang, Marc Solis, Mariel de Leon, Michael de Mesa, Onyok Pineda, Phoebe Walker, PJ Endrinal, Rhian Ramos, Shantel Crislyn Layh Ngujo, Benj Manalo, Smugglaz, Bassilyo


FILM: “Deadma Walking”

PRODUCER: T-Rex Entertainment

DIRECTOR: Julius Alfonso

CAST: Joross Gamboa, Edgar Allan Guzman, Dimples Romana, Bobby Andrews, Candy Pangilinan,  Nico Antonio, Jojit Lorenzo, Patricia Ismael, Ricci Chan


FILM: “Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad”

PRODUCERS: Star Cinema, Viva Films

DIRECTOR: Joyce Bernal

CAST: Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla, Pia Wurtzbach


FILM: “Haunted Forest”

PRODUCER: Regal Entertainment

DIRECTOR: Ian Loreños

CAST: Jane Oineza, Joey Marquez, Jon Lucas, Maris Racal, Jameson Blake, Jerald Napoles


FILM: “Meant to Beh”

PRODUCER: Octo Arts Films

DIRECTOR: Chris Martinez

CAST: Vic Sotto, Dawn Zulueta, JC Santos, Daniel Matsunaga, Gabbi Garcia, Andrea Torres


FILM: “Siargao”

PRODUCER: TEN17P Productions

DIRECTOR: Paul Soriano

CAST: Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales, Jasmine Curtis-Smith



In July, “Ang Panday,” “Almost is Not Enough,” “Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad” and “Meant to Beh” were chosen based on script submissions. The recently announced entries namely “Deadma Walking,” “Siargao,” “Haunted Forest” and “Ang Larawan” were selected from finished film submissions.


There are eight MMFF 2017 short film entries to be shown, as well. These are “Anino,” “Anong Nangyari Kay Nicanor Dante?”, “Black Market,” “Crab Mentality,” “Gunita,” “Isang Gabi (One Night),” “Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata” and “Noel.” 


MMFF 2017, which is the 43rd edition of the annual film festival held in Metro Manila, will kick off on Dec. 23 and will culminate during the awards night on Dec. 27. Headed by National Artist Bienvenido Lumbera, the selection committee members are Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) Representative Consoliza Laguardia, Gordon Ting of Vista Cinema, Bing Advincula of Robinsons Movieworld, Alanna Yulde of Cinema 2000, producer Jessie Ejercito, writer Roy Iglesias, directors Maryo J. de los Reyes and Mel Chionglo and Atty. Alu Dorotan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.