Brian Ortega still undefeated, beats Cub Swanson at ‘UFC Fight Night 123’

Cub Swanson (Facebook/UFC)

Cub Swanson (Facebook/UFC)

Hailing from Palm Springs, California, Cub Swanson, 34, lost the featherweight bout against Brian “T-City” Ortega, 26, at “UFC Fight Night 123” at Save Mart Center in Fresno, California on Dec. 9, Saturday. This means the latter, who is from Torrance, California, is still an undefeated fighter and improved his record to 13 wins and 0 loss.

At “UFC Fight Night 123,” Ortega entered the UFC cage as an undefeated fighter with 12 wins. He made a successful UFC debut at “UFC on Fox 12” on July 26, 2014 by submitting Mike De La Torre via rear-naked choke in the first round.

However, the win over De La Torre was overturned and the result was changed to No Contest. During a screening after the fight, Ortega tested positive for drostanolone, an anabolic-androgenic steroid (AAS).

On June 6, 2015, Ortega returned into the UFC cage and knocked out Thiago Tavares at “UFC Fight Night 68.” It was a beginning of a winning streak as he went on to defeat Diego Brandao, Clay Guida and Renato Carneiro before facing Swanson.

After losing to Ortega, Swanson now was 25 wins and 8 losses. Swanson made his UFC debut on Nov. 12, 2011 at “UFC on Fox 1” where he lost to Ricardo Lamas via arm-triangle choke submission on the second round.

On Jan. 28, 2012, Swanson had a redemptive win at “UFC on Fox 2.” He defeated George Roop via technical knockout via punches on the second round.

On June 22, 2012,  Swanson won again via technical knockout via punches on the second round. He defeated Ross Pearson at “UFC on Fox 2.”

After Roop and Pearson, Charles Oliviera, Dustin Poirier, Dennis Silver and Jeremy Stephens all lost to Swanson. It was Frankie Edgar and Max Holloway who broke Swanson’s winning streak at the time.

Edgar submitted Swanson via neck crank submission in the fifth round at “UFC Fight Night 57” on Nov. 22, 2014.  On April 18, 2015, Holloway submitted Swanson via guillotine choke in the third round.

It was on April 16, 2016 when Swanson managed to redeem himself by defeating Hacran Dias at “UFC on Fox 19” via unanimous decision. Swanson went on to maintain a winning streak by defeating Tatsuya Kawajiri, Doo Ho Choi and Artem Lobov only to be broken by Ortega at “UFC Fight Night 123.”


Brian Ortega (Facebook/UFC)

Brian Ortega (Facebook/UFC)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.