2018 Cannes Film Festival: Un Certain Regard

Benicio de Toro © Myrna Suarez

Benicio de Toro © Myrna Suarez

On April 12, 2018, Festival de Cannes president Pierre Lescure and general delegate Thierry Frémaux announced the official entries to the 71st Festival de Cannes, which will be held from May 8-19, 2018. There will be 14 films under the Un Certain Regard category.

Academy Award winner Benicio del Toro, who is set to play the Collector in “Avengers: Infinity War,” is the Jury President for Un Certain Regard. Here are the films competing in this section:

  1. “El Angel” (The Angel) by Luis Ortega of Argentina and Spain
  2. “Gueule d’ange” (Angel Face) by Vanessa Filho of France
  3. “Grans” (Border) by Ali Abbasi of Sweden and Denmark
  4. “Euphoria” by Valeria Golino of Italy
  5. “Friend” by Wanuri Kahiu of Kenya
  6. “The Gentle Indifference of the World” by Adilkhan Yerzhanov of Kazakhstan and France
  7. “Girl” by Lukas Dhont of Belgium
  8. “Die Stopers” (The Harvesters) by Etienne Kallos of South Africa and France
  9. “In My Room” by Ulrich Kohler of Germany and Italy
  10. “Les chatouilles” (Little Tickles) by Andrea Bescond and Eric Metayer of France
  11. “Manto” by Nandita Das of India
  12. “Mon tissue prefere” (My Favorite Fabric) by Gaya Jiji of France, Germany and Turkey
  13. “Sextape” by Antoine Desrosieres of France
  14. “Sofia” by Meryem Benm’Barek-Aloisi of Belgium

In 2017, the Un Certain Regard jury was led by Uma Thurman. The prize winner was “Lerd” (A Man of Integrity” by Mohammad Rasoulof of Iran.

Watch the announcement of the official entries to the 71st Festival de Cannes here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.