Complete list of Miss Earth 2020 candidates from Africa

Miss Earth

The 20th edition of Miss Earth will culminate on November 29, 2020. A total of 84 countries are represented including Bangladesh, Burkina Faso and Syria, which are participating for the first time.

Miss Earth 2020 started on September 21, 2020. Reigning queen Nellys Pimentel of Puerto Rico will crown her successor through a virtual coronation night due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

This is the first time Miss Earth is held virtually. All of the 19 previous editions were held in the Philippines except for the 10th and 15th editions, which were held in Vietnam and Austria, respectively.

Fourteen of the 84 Miss Earth 2020 candidates are from Africa. Here is the list:

  1. Miss Earth Burkina Faso 2020 Amira Naïmah Bassané
  2. Miss Earth Cameroon 2020 Danielle Chegue Wabo
  3. Miss Earth Côte d’Ivoire 2020 Aya Ngaceng Kadjo
  4. Miss Earth Ghana 2020 Emmaryn Roxanne Djentuh
  5. Miss Earth Kenya 2020 Fridah Kariuki
  6. Miss Earth Liberia 2020 Robell Hovers
  7. Miss Earth Mauritius 2020 Nelvina Bakshya
  8. Miss Earth Nigeria 2020 Gwenivere Chioma Ifeanyieze
  9. Miss Earth Reunion Island 2020 Cloë Bienvenu
  10. Miss Earth Sierra Leone 2020 Nadiatejanatu Mansaray
  11. Miss Earth South Africa 2020 Lungo Katete Nyusu
  12. Miss Earth Uganda 2020 Priscillah Mbabazi
  13. Miss Earth Zambia 2020 Muka Mimi Hamoonga
  14. Miss Earth Zimbabwe 2020 Tinokunda Moyo

If one of these 14 African beauties wins the title, she will be the second Miss Earth from Africa. The first one was Miss Earth 2002 Winfred Omwakwe of Kenya.

Originally crowned Miss Earth-Air 2002, Omwakwe replaced Džejla Glavović of Bosnia and Herzegovina, who was crowned Miss Earth 2002 but was dethroned. Meanwhile, here is the list of African countries not represented in Miss Earth 2020:

North Africa

  1.  Algeria
  2. Canary Islands
  3. Ceuta
  4. Egypt
  5. Libya
  6. Madeira
  7. Melilla
  8. Morocco
  9. Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
  10. Sudan
  11. Tunisia


East Africa

  1. Burundi
  2. Comoros
  3. Djibouti
  4. Eritrea
  5. Ethiopia
  6. French Southern and Antarctic Lands
  7. Madagascar
  8. Malawi
  9. Mayotte
  10. Mozambique
  11. Rwanda
  12. Somaliland
  13. South Sudan
  14. Tanzania 
Central Africa

  1.  Angola
  2. Central African Republic
  3. Chad
  4. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  5. Republic of the Congo
  6. Equatorial Guinea
  7. Gabon
  8. São Tomé and Príncipe
West Africa

  1. Benin
  2. Cape Verde
  3. Gambia
  4. Guinea
  5. Guinea-Bissau
  6. Mali
  7. Mauritania
  8. Niger
  9. Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  10. Senegal
  11. Togo


Southern Africa

  1. Botswana
  2. Eswatiti (Swaziland)
  3. Lesotho
  4. Namibia  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.