[PHOTOS] Aung La N Sang vs Ken Hasegawa at ‘ONE: Spirit of a Warrior’ in Yangon, Myanmar


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In collaboration with Telenor Myanmar, ONE Championship conducted the “ONE: Spirit of a Warrior” press conference at the Pullman Yangon Centrepoint Hotel in Yangon, Myanmar on June 27, 2018 featuring the face-off of 20 fighters. ONE Championship chief commercial officer Jack Lim and Telenor Myanmar chief financial officer Yin Yin Htay attended the event.

Including three ONE Super Series matches, the 10 “ONE: Spirit of a Warrior” bouts fired up the crowd at the Thuwunna Indoor Stadium in Yangon on June 29, 2018. In the main event, Ken Hasegawa, 31, of Japan challenged reigning ONE Middleweight and Light Heavyweight World Champion “The Burmese Python” Aung La N Sang, 33, of Myanmar.

“ONE: Spirit of a Warrior” marked Hasegawa’s ONE Championship debut. The Japanese challenger and the hometown hero competed for the ONE Middleweight World Championship.

Both possessing respected grappling pedigrees, Aung and Hasegawa stood toe-to-toe from start to finish. The hometown hero came out of the gates blazing, peppering his  with a torrent of heavy blows from different angles.

The bout’s complexion changed in the second round when, from a southpaw stance, Hasegawa made it a competitive contest, repeatedly tagging Aung with his boxing combinations. Drawing loud cheers from the raucous crowd, the two warriors unloaded blistering combinations that pushed each other to the limit.

The rest of the match saw both men figure in one of the most exciting bouts in ONE Championship history and an extremely close championship encounter. In the final moments of the fifth round, Aung managed to sneak in a thunderous uppercut to shut the lights off on Hasegawa.

Referee Olivier Coste put a stop to the bout at 3:13 minutes of round 5, declaring Aung as the winner via knockout. Here are the official “ONE: Spirit of a Warrior” results:

  1. ONE Super Series Kickboxing Lightweight bout: Elliot Compton defeats Matthew Semper by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  2. Flyweight bout: Mite Yine defeats Saw Darwait by TKO (Strikes) at 2:48 minutes of round 1
  3. ONE Super Series Kickboxing Catchweight bout (67.0kg): Tukkatatong Petpayathai defeats Mehdi Zatout by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  4. Strawweight bout: Kritsada Kongsrichai defeats Jeremy Miado by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  5. Bantamweight bout: Chen Lei defeats Ahmad Qais Jasoor by TKO (Strikes) at 1:27 minutes of round 3
  6. Featherweight bout: Tetsuya Yamada defeats Rafael Nunes by TKO (Doctor’s Stoppage) at 4:05 minutes of round 2
  7. Featherweight bout: Sagetdao Petpayathai defeats Ma Jia Wen by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  8. ONE Super Series Kickboxing Catchweight bout (72.0kg): Sorgraw Petchyindee Academy defeats Samy Sana by Majority Decision (MD) after 3 rounds
  9. Bantamweight bout: Leandro Issa defeats Roman Alvarez by Submission (Arm Triangle Choke) at 1:26 minutes of round 1
  10. ONE Middleweight World Championship bout: Aung La N Sang defeats Ken Hasegawa by Knockout (KO) at 3:13 minutes of round 5

Watch the bout between Aung and Hasegawa here:

For more updates on ONE Championship, please visit, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @ONEChampionship, and like us on Facebook at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.