Manny Pacquiao is new WBA Regular Welterweight Champion

The new World Boxing Association Regular Welterweight Champion is a Filipino. Fighting out of General Santos, South Cotabato, Philippines, boxing legend Manny “Pac-Man” Pacquiao, 39, captured the title from the reigning champ at “Fight of Champions,” an MP Productions boxing event that took place at the Axiata Arena in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

On July 15, 2018, Pacquiao challenged the then reigning WBA Regular Welterweight Champion Lucas “La Maquina” Matthysse, 35, of Trelew, Chubut, Argentina in the main event of “Fight of Champions.” This marked the 69th professional boxing bout of the Filipino boxing legend.

Pacquiao was the first Filipino boxer to compete against Matthyse. The Argentine boxer has been competing professionally since 2004.

Referee Kenny Bayless put a stop to the bout between Pacquiao and Matthysse at 2:43 of Round 7. The Filipino boxer knocked out his Argentine opponent.

By winning at “Fight of Champions,” Pacquiao improved his record to 60 wins, 7 losses and 2 draws. On the other hand, Matthysse’s record downgraded to 39 wins, 5 losses and 1 No Contest.

By claiming the WBA Regular Welterweight Championship title, Pacquiao is now a five-time welterweight champion. It was his first stoppage victory since November 14, 2009 when he knocked out Miguel “Junito” Cotto, 37, of Providence, Rhode Island, United States at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Paradise, Nevada, USA for the World Boxing Organisation Welterweight title.

Matthysse was coming out of a victory over Tewa Kiram, 26, of Thailand. On January 27, 2018, the Argentine boxer knocked out his Thai opponent at 1:21 of Round 8 to win the WBA (Regular) Welterweight Championship at the Forum, Inglewood, California, United States.

On the other hand, Pacquiao was coming out of a loss to Jeff Horn, 30, of Brisbane, Australia at “Battle of Brisbane” at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on July 2, 2017. Both judges Chris Flores and Ramon Cerdan scored the bout 113-115 while Waleska Roldan gave it 111-117 all in favor of the Australian boxer.

This made Horn the seventh boxer to defeat Pacquiao. The first six are Rustico Torrecampo, Medgoen Singsurat, Erik Morales, Timothy Bradley, Juan Manuel Marquez and Floyd Mayweather Jr.

On June 9, 2012, Pacquiao lost the World Boxing Organisation Welterweight title to Bradley. The latter won via split decision.

Bradley and Pacquiao had two rematches, which were both won by the Filipino boxer via unanimous decision at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Paradise, Nevada, United States. The first rematch was on April 12, 2014  and the second one was on April 9, 2016.

The second rematch with Bradley marked Pacquiao’s 58th win as a professional boxer. The 57th one was a unanimous decision victory of Chris Algieri at the Cotai Arena in Macau, China on November 23, 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.