Team Lakay’s 3 ONE Championship champions: Geje Eustaquio, Kevin Belingon, Joshua Pacio

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Founded by Mark Sangiao, the mixed martial arts team based in Baguio City, Philippines called Team Lakay now has three reigning world champions in ONE Championship. They are Geje “Gravity” Eustaquio, 29, Kevin “The Silencer” Belingon, 30, and Joshua “The Passion” Pacio, 22.

Eustaquio became the ONE Interim Flyweight World Champion on January 26, 2018. He eventually became the undisputed ONE Flyweight World Champion on June 23, 2018.

Belingon became the ONE Interim Bantamweight World Champion on July 27, 2018. He is scheduled to compete for the ONE Bantamweight World Champion on November 9, 2018 at “ONE: Heart of a Lion” in Singapore.

Pacio first competed for the ONE Strawweight World Championship on October 7, 2016 but failed to dethrone then reigning champion, Yoshitaka “Nobita” Naito, 34, of Matsudo, Chiba, Japan. But when they fought again on September 22, 2018, tables have turned.

The rematch between Pacio and Naito was the main event of “ONE: Conquest of Heroes” at the Jakarta Convention Center in Jakarta, Indonesia. After five five-minute rounds, the challenger from Team Lakay was declared the new ONE Strawweight World Champion after winning via unanimous decision.

Before Eustaquio, Belingon and Pacio, Team Lakay fighter had other world champions in ONE Championship. The first one was Honorio “The Rock” Banario, 28, who reigned as the inaugural ONE Featherweight World Champion from February 2, 2013 to May 31, 2013.

The second one was Eduard “Landslide” Folayang, 34. He reigned as the ONE Lightweight World Champion from November 11, 2016 to November 10, 2017.

Both Banario and Folayang are now competing in the lightweight division. Currently reigning as the ONE Featherweight and Lightweight World Champion is Martin “The Situ-Asian” Nguyen, 29, of Australia and Vietnam.

Including Eustaquio, Belingon and Pacio, ONE Championship now has four reigning world champions from the Philippines. The other one is Brandon “The Truth” Vera, 40, who has been reigning as the ONE Heavyweight World Champion since December 11, 2015.

The other Team Lakay fighters currently signed with ONE Championship are Danny “The King” Kingad, Eduard “The Ferocious” Kelly, Gina “Conviction” Iniong and April Osenio. Meanwhile, here are Sangiao and Belingon right after the latter was crowned a world champion:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.