57 Filipino athletes to compete in 3rd Asian Para Games in Indonesia

Michael Barredo

Michael Barredo

On October 1, 2018, 57 Filipino para athletes will go to Jakarta, Indonesia to slug it out in the 2018 Asian Para Games. The third edition of multi-sport event for Asian athletes with disability held every four years will take place from October 6-13, 2018 in 19 locations around Jakarta.

Filipino para athletes will compete in 10 of 18 sports slated in the Para Games, namely archery, athletics, badminton, chess, cycling, judo, powerlifting, table tennis, swimming and tenpin bowling. Leading the Philippine contingent are bemedalled para athletes Adeline Dumapong-Ancheta of powerlifting and Josephine Medina of table tennis.

Medina won a bronze medal in 2016 at the Paralympics held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Holding the record for being the first Filipino to win a medal in the Paralympics after bagging a bronze medal in Sydney, Australia in 2000, Ancheta won another bronze medal recently in the 2018 World Para Powerlifting Asia-Oceania Open Championships in Fukuoka, Japan in September 2018.

Philippine Paralympic Committee president Michael Barredo expressed optimism in the Philippine campaign in Jakarta. The Philippines hopes to improve on its five silvers and five bronzes finish in Incheon, South Korea four years ago, he said.

University of the Philippines Professor Francis Carlos Diaz will serve as Chef de Mission. He said that the Philippine team went through rigorous training to prepare for this regional event and thanked the Philippine Sports Commission for the generous support that it extended so that Filipino para athletes could compete for the country.

Donning the national colors are Agustina Bantiloc and Giovanni Ola for archery and Prudencia Panaligan, Andy Avellana, Jerrold Pete Mangliwan, Joel Balatucan, Evaristo Carbonel, Jeanette Acebeda, Marites Burce, Arman Dino and Cendy Asusano for athletics. Jonas Matados, Paz Lita and Kathleen Pedrosa will compete in badminton while Sander Severino, Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom, Minandro Redor, Israel Peligro, Arman Subaste, Francis Ching, Rodolfo Sarmiento, Cecilio Bilog, Fe Mangayayam, Jean-lee Nacita and Cheryl Angot will compete in chess.

Arthus Bucay and Godfrey Taberna will compete in cycling, Gener Padilla, Deterson Omas and Carlito Agustin in judo and and Achelle Guion, Agustin Kitan, Marydol Pamatian and Romeo Tayawa in powerlifting. Minnie Cadag, Benedicto Gaela, Pablo Catalan, Darwin Salvacion and Smith Billy Cartera will compete im table tennis, Ernie Gawilan, Gary Bejino, Roland Subido, Arnel Aba and Edwin Villanueva in swimming and Kim Ian Chi, Samuel Matias, Angelito Guloya, Christopher Yue, Francisco Ednaco, Jaime Manginga, Augusto Hernandez, Crisostomo Yao, Noel Espanol and Ruben San Diego in tenpin bowling.

The first edition of the Asian Para Games was held in Guangzhou, China in 2010 and the second edition was held in 2014 in Incheon, Korea. The 3rd Asian Para Games’ contingent hopes to better their last medal record to inspire other para athletes to break barriers and pursue their dream of representing the country.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.