Joshua Pacio vs Hayato Suzuki rematch at ‘ONE: Eternal Glory’ in Jakarta, Indonesia

Representing Team Lakay, reigning ONE Strawweight World Champion Joshua “The Passion” Pacio, 22, of La Trinidad, Benguet, Philippines will defend his title for the first time at “ONE: Eternal Glory.” His challenger will be Hayato Suzuki, 32, of Takahagi City, Ibaraki, Japan.

“ONE: Eternal Glory” will take place at the Istora Senayan in Jakarta, Indonesia on January 19, 2019. The main event will be the rematch between Pacio and Suzuki.

The first encounter between Pacio and Suzuki took place at “ONE: Kings and Conquerors” at the Cotai Arena in Macau, China on August 5, 2017. The Japanese contender submitted his Filipino opponent via rear-naked choke in the first round.

Training out of Brave Gym in Kita Senju, Adachi-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Suzuki has only one loss in his record. On November 10, 2017, he lost via rear-naked choke submission at “ONE: Legends of the World” at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines to Alex “Little Rock” Silva, 36, of Ubatuba, Sao Paulo, Brazil, who reigned as the ONE Strawweight World Champion from December 9, 2017 to May 12, 2018.

Suzuki was the second mixed martial artist to defeat Pacio in a professional bout. The first one was former ONE Strawweight World Champion Yoshitaka “Nobita” Naito, 34, of Matsudo, Chiba, Japan.

On October 7, 2016, Naito submitted Pacio via rear-naked choke at “ONE: State of Warriors” at the Thuwunna Indoor Stadium in Yangon, Myanmar. They had their rematch at “ONE: Conquest of Heroes” on September 22, 2018 at the Jakarta Convention Center in Jakarta, which ended in unanimous decision in favor of the Team Lakay fighter.

Pacio will be the first among the four Team Lakay fighters who are reigning champions of ONE Championship to defend his title. The other three are ONE Flyweight World Champion Geje “Gravity” Eustaquio, 29, ONE Bantamweight World Champion Kevin “The Silencer” Belingon, 31, and ONE Lightweight World Champion Eduard “Landslide” Folayang, 35.

Here are the Team Lakay fighters with ONE Championship champion titles with their head coach Mark Sangiao:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.