MMA, martial arts

Tribal Torogi’s Ismael Bandiwan earns 3rd ONE Warrior Series win in Singapore

Ismael Bandiwan, Isaac Yap, Adib Sulaiman (© ONE Championship)

Ismael Bandiwan, Isaac Yap, Adib Sulaiman (© ONE Championship)

Training out of Tribal Torogi in Baguio City, Philippines, Ismael Bandiwan, 23, was one of the winners at “Rich Franklin’s ONE Warriors Series” Season 7. It was his fifth bout in the ONE Championship subsidiary headed by mixed martial arts veteran Rich “Ace” Franklin, 44, of the United States.

ONE Championship held “ONE Warrior Series 7” in Singapore on August 6, 2019 featuring one Muay Thai contest and 14 professional MMA matches. In the 10th bout of the evening, Bandiwan competed in an MMA match in the strawweight division against Adip “Deep” Sulaiman, 28, of Brunei Darussalam.

Isaac Yap served as the referee of the strawweight bout. He put a stop to the contest after 4 minutes and 3 seconds in the third round when Bandiwan knocked out Sulaiman via strikes.

Winning at “ONE Warrior Series 7” improved the professional MMA record of Adiwan to 6 wins and 2 losses. On the other hand, Sulaiman now has 2 wins and 2 losses.

Adiwan was one of the fighters who competed at “ONE Warrior Series 1” on March 31, 2018. He defeated “The Underdog” Mohd Fouzein, 35, of Malaysia via unanimous decision.

On April 25, 2019, Adiwan earned his second ONE Warrior Series win via technical knockout. The Tribal Torogi athlete knocked out Arif “Ayep SC” Izzudin, 29, of Malaysia at “ONE Warrior Series 5.”

Bandiwan had two losses in ONE Warrior Series. He lost to his fellow Filipino fighter Mark Cuizon, 27, via unanimous decision in “ONE Warrior Series 2” on July 19, 2018 and to Ryuto “Dragon Boy” Sawada, 23, of Japan via armbar submission in “ONE Warrior Series 3” on October 11, 2018.

Including the Philippines and Brunei Darussalam, 16 countries were represented at “ONE Warrior Series 7.” The others are Australia, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Northern Ireland, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, the U.S. and Vietnam.

The Philippines had five representatives namely Bandiwan, Lito Adiwang, 26, Ismael 23, Jenelyn Olsim, 22, Dave “Kintas” Bangguigui, 23, and Allan Albindo, 22. Do solely represented Vietnam. Brunei Darussalam had two representatives namely Sulaiman and Hidayat “Dayat” Abdul, 29.

Watch all the 15 “ONE Warrior Series 7” bouts here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.