Butuan’s Elaine Duran is ‘Tawag ng Tanghalan’ Season 3 grand champion

Elaine Duran

Elaine Duran

Elaine Duran of Butuan won “Tawag ng Tanghalan” Season 3. She was declared the grand champion of the singing competition of the variety show “It’s Showtime” on ABS-CBN on September 28, 2019.

Duran holds the first ever Hall of Fame record in “Tawag ng Tanghalan” having 10 consecutive wins in the daily rounds. Prior to this, she was rejected during the auditions in her first two attempts.

John Mark Saga of Bacoor, Cavite was runner-up to Duran as the “Tawag ng Tanghalan” Season 3. John Michael dela Cerna of Davao was second runner-up.

A total of 12 finalists were chosen for the “Tawag ng Tanghalan” Season 3 grand finals. They competed for a week and culminated in the final battle of the Top 6 finalists in a live finale at the Caloocan Sports Complex in Caloocan City, Metro Manila, Philippines on September 28, 2019.

In the final round, the Top 3 finalists performed medleys. Duran sang “Hanggang sa Dulo ng Walang Hanggan,” “Sana ay Ikaw Na Nga” and “Ngayon at Kailanman” by Basil Valdez.


On September 24, 2019, Ranillo Enriquez of Cebu City and Charizze Arnigo of Surigao City were eliminated and declared the respective 11th and 12th placers. On the same day, Duran and Kim Nemenzo of Calatrava, Negros Occidental automatically advanced to the Top 6.

Jermaine Apil of San Pedro, Laguna was declared the 10th placer while dela Cerna advanced to the Top 6 on September 25, 2019. Violeta Bayawa of Dipolog, Zamboanga del Norte was named the ninth placer while Saga advanced to the Top 6 on September 26, 2019.

On September 27,2019,  Rafaello Cañedo of Davao del Sur and Julius Cawaling of Bacoor, Cavite were declared the respective 7th and 8th placers. On the same day, Shaina Mae Allaga of Zamboanga del Sur and Jonas Oñate, Calbayog City, Samar advanced to the Top 6.

The live finale was hosted by Vice Ganda, Anne Curtis, Vhong Navarro, Amy Perez and Jhong Hilario. The judges were Jolina Magdangal, Jed Madela, Jaya, Eric Santos, Gary Valenciano, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Ogie Alcasid, Mikoy Yonting, Randy Santiago, Billy Crawford, K Brosas, Kyla, Karylle, Karla Estrada and Rey Valera.

To choose the “Tawag ng Tanghalan” Season 3 grand champion, 50 percent of the final score will come from the judges and 50 percent will come from the combined text votes and online votes. In the first round of the live finale, Duran, Saga and dela Cerna moved to the Top 3.

In the last round of the live finale, dela Cerna earned a final score of 25.23 percent from the combined judges’ scores and audience’s votes while Saga had 33.59 percent. Duran obtained 41.18 percent.

Here is Duran singing “Nadarang” by Sean Patrick “Shanti Dope” Ramos:

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.