Leni Robredo praises SEA Games 2019 organizers, performers, athletes, world champions

Leni Robredo, 54, was one of the people who expressed their appreciation to the 2019 Southeast Asian Games opening ceremony. The vice president of the Philippines took to Twitter to thank not only the Filipino athletes and world champions but also the performers during the opening ceremony and all the people behind it.


Among the world champions who participated in the 2019 SEA Games opening ceremony were boxing champions Manny Pacquiao and Nesthy Petecio. As shown in a pre-taped video taken at the New Clark City  in Capas, Tarlac, Philippines, the two boxers lit the cauldron together.

The live 2019 SEA Games opening ceremony took place at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan, Philippines on November 30, 2019. During the event, the SEA Games Federation flag was carried by Philippines’ very own sports legends  namely track and field star and eight-year Asia’s fastest woman Lydia de Vega, seven-time SEA Games swimming gold medalist Akiko Thomson-Guevarra, 15-time SEA Games swimming gold medalist Eric Buhain, four-time Philippine Basketball Association MVP and SEA Games gold medalist Alvin Patrimonio, four-time bowling world champion Bong Coo, four-time world eight-ball billiards champion Efren “Bata” Reyes, two-time SEA Games gold medalist and Olympic silver medalist Mansueto “Onyok” Velasco and six-time bowling world champion Rafael “Paeng” Nepomuceno.

World-class Filipino musicians performed the official SEA Games 2019 theme song titled “We Win as One” during the ceremony, namely Allan “apl.de.ap” Pineda Lindo, 44, of The Black Eyed Peas, Lani Misalucha, 50, Jed Madela, 42, Christian Bautista, 38, KZ Tandingan, 27, Aicelle Santos, 34, Elmo Magalona, 25, Iñigo Pascual, 22, Ana Fegi, 42, Robert Seña, 50, and the TNT Boys Keifer Sanchez, 14, Mackie Empuerto, 14, and Francis Concepcion, 13. The song was composed by Ryan Cayabyab and originally sang by Lea Salonga.

Privately formed, the Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) is behind the preparation and execution of SEA Games 2019. It is chaired by Alan Peter Cayetano, 49, the speaker of the House of Representatives of the Philippines.

Weeks before the SEA Games 2019 opening ceremony, Robredo accepted the offer to served as the co-chairperson of the Inter-Agency Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (ICAD). But on November 24, 2019, she was fired by Rodrigo Duterte, the president of the Philippines.

Duterte attended the live 2019 SEA Games opening ceremony at the Philippine Arena. He was seated next to Hassanal Bolkiah, the sultan and prime minister of Brunei and the father of Brunei’s polo team members Prince Abdul Mateen and Princess Azemah Ni’matul and he sultanate’s netball squad member Princess Fadzilah Lubabul.

Watch the 2019 SEA Games opening ceremony here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.