ball sports

Sweden’s Henrik Stenson, Alex Norén at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Sweden has two representatives in the 2020 United States Open Championship namely Henrik Stenson, 44, and Alexander Norén, 38. Including the two Swedish golfers, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S.

Stenson was born in Gothenburg, Sweden on April 5, 1976. He won the BMW International Open on June 26, 2016, The Open Championship on July 17, 2016, the Wyndham Championship on August 20, 2017 and the Hero World Challenge on December 7, 2019.


Norén was born in Stockholm, Sweden on July 12, 1982. He won the Omega European Masters and the Nedbank Golf Challenge in 2016, the BMW PGA Championship in 2017 and the Farmers Insurance Open and the HNA Open de France in 2018.

Sweden has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. The annual golf competition was established in 1895.


The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. The last time the tournament was held there was in 2006 when Geoff Ogilvy, 43, of Australia won with a score of 5 over par.

Including Sweden and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile,  Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.