biographical facts

Bryson DeChambeau biography: 13 things about Californian golfer nicknamed The Scientist

Bryson James Aldrich “The Scientist” DeChambeau is a professional golfer from California, United States. During the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, he participated in the 120th edition of the United States Open Championship, which took place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020.

Among the 144 players in the 2020 U.S. Open, 67 were from the U.S. including DeChambeau. Here are 13 more facts about him:


  1. He was born in Modesto, California on September 16, 1993 to John Howard Aldrich DeChambeau and Janet Louise Druffel.
  2. In 1999, he already had an understanding of algebra.
  3. From Modesto, he moved to Clovis, California in 2000. He attended Clovis East High School. While in high school, he borrowed a 180-page physics textbook from the library and rewrote everything from it into a three-ring binder. He told Golf Digest, “My parents could have bought one for me but they had done so much for me in golf that I didn’t want to bother them in asking for a $200 book.”
  4. Having mastered stippling, the creation of a pattern simulating varying degrees of solidity or shading by using small dots, he has a painting of golfer Ben Hogan hanging up in his parents’ house in Clovis.
  5. He is trained by biomechanics specialist Greg Roskopf and among his golf coaches are Mike Schy and Chris Como.
  6. In 2008, Schy gave him a copy of “The Golfing Machine,” a book written by  the late Homer Kelley, which breaks down the motions of the golf swing into a series of equations and formulas.
  7. In 2010, he won the California State Junior Championship.
  8. In 2012, he accepted a scholarship to Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, USA, where he majored in physics. He became the first SMU student to win the NCAA individual championship in June 2015 and won the U.S. Amateur title in August 2015. This made him the fifth golfer to win both the NCAA and U.S. Amateur titles in the same year. The first one to do so was Jack Nicklaus in 1961 followed by Phil Mickelson in 1990, Tiger Woods in 1996 and Ryan Moore in 2004.
  9. When he made his professional golf debut in 2016, he signed a long-term agreement with Cobra-Puma Golf. On September 11, 2016, he became the inaugural winner of the DAP Championship, which was held at the Canterbury Golf Club in the Cleveland suburb of Beachwood, Ohio, USA.
  10. On July 16, 2017, he won the John Deere Classic in Illinois, USA, which was his first PGA Tour victory. He won by a single stroke over Patrick Rodgers.
  11. He won the Memorial Tournament on June 3, 2018, The Northern Trust on August 26, 2018, the Dell Technologies Championship on September 3, 2018 and the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open on November 4, 2018.
  12. On January 27, 2019, he won the Omega Dubai Desert Classic in the United Arab Emirates.
  13. He won the Rocket Mortgage Classic in Michigan, USA on July 5, 2020.

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.