Emomali Rahmon biography: 10 things about Tajikistan’s 3rd president


Emomali Rahmon is a Tajik politician and a Sunni Muslim. He and his wife Azizmo Asadullayeva have nine children including Rustam Emomali and Ozoda Rahmon.

Emomali is considered a dictator and an authoritarian. Here are 10 more facts about him:

  1. He was born Emomali Sharipovich Rakhmonov (Эмомали́ Шари́пович Рахмо́нов) on October 5, 1952, in Dangara, Kulyab Province, Tajikistan to farmers Sharif Rahmonov and Mayram Sharifova.
  2. After graduating from a vocational school in the city of Kalininabad, Tajikistan, now Sarband, in 1969, he worked as a master electrician at a creamery in Kurgan-Tyubinsk, Samarkand, Uzbekistan.
  3. When he served in the Soviet Union’s Pacific Fleet from 1971 to 1974, he was stationed in the Primorsky Krai.
  4. From 1976 to 1987, he served as secretary of the board and chairman of the trade union committee of the Lenin state farm in Dangara. He was the director of the farm from 1987 to 1992. In 1982, he graduated from the Faculty of Economics of the Tajik National University in Dushanbe, Tajikistan.
  5. In 1990, he was elected a people’s deputy to the Supreme Soviet of the Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic. When the Supreme Soviet met in Khujand, Tajikistan for its 16th session on November 19, 1992, Tajikistan was declared a parliamentary republic and he was elected Chairman of the Supreme Council of the Republic of Tajikistan.
  6. On November 6, 1994, he was elected via popular vote as President of the Republic of Tajikistan. He was sworn in on November 16, 1994. On November 6, 1999, he was reelected President of the Republic of Tajikistan for a seven-year term.
  7. In 2000, he was awarded the World Peace Prize Harvester’s Prize. On June 22, 2003, he won a referendum that would allow him to run for two more consecutive seven-year terms after his term expired in 2006. On November 6, 2006, he was elected for the third time as President of the Republic of Tajikistan with about 79 percent of the votes for a seven-year term. In March 2007, he changed his surname to Rahmon. He received the Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise from Ukraine in 2008, the Order of the Three Stars from Latvia in 2009, the Order of Merit of Ukraine in 2011, the Heydar Aliyev Order from Azerbaijan and the Order of the President of Turkmenistan in 2012 and the Order of the Republic of Serbia in 2013.
  8. On November 6, 2013, he won the regular presidential elections in the Republic of Tajikistan with about 84 percent of the votes for another seven-year term. A law passed by Tajikistan’s parliament in December 2015 gave him the title Асосгузори сулҳу ваҳдати миллӣ – Пешвои миллат, Asosguzori sulhu vahdati millî – Peşvo‘i millat (Founder of Peace and National Unity, Leader of the Nation).
  9. A nationwide referendum on May 22, 2016 approved several changes to Tajikistan’s constitution, one of which lifted the limit on presidential terms, effectively allowing him to stay in power for as many terms as he wishes. He received the Order of Alexander Nevsky from Russia in 2017 and the Order of Parasat from Kazakhstan in 2018.
  10. He was 68 years old when he won Tajikistan’s presidential election on October 11, 2020 with 90.92 percent of the votes. He was sworn in on October 30, 2020 and will serve as the country’s president for another seven-year term for the fifth time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.