Flu delays Super Junior’s Ryeowook’s ‘Drunk on Love’ album release

The flu virus is not only annoying, devastating and contagious. It can be so powerful that it can delay the release of an album of a K-pop star.

Label SJ was supposed to release “Drunk on Love,” the second mini-album of Kim Ryeo Wook (김려욱), 31, who is professionally known as Ryeowook (려욱), on December 11, 2018. However, the label had to move the release date to January 2, 2019 due to due to health reasons.

On December 10, 2018, Label SJ released a statement to explain the decision. According to the label, Ryeowook flew to Bangkok, Thailand on December 7 to attend the MAYA International Music Festival 2018, which took place at the Show DC Oasis Outdoor Arena in Bangkok on December 8-9, 2018.

Upon returing to Korean after the music festival in Bangkok, Ryeowook felt feverish so he visited a hospital. The member of the K-pop boy band Super Junior was diagnosed with influenza A and was advised to be quarantined and take a rest.

But Ryeowook’s fans have nothing to worry about. The influenza A virus infects many people in most countries on an almost annual basis, the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Veterinary Medicine professor and influenza expert Yoshihiro Kawaoka noted in “Influenza Virology: Current Topics.”

“Influenza infection is short-term so treatment would only be needed during its acute phase,” Medical Xpress quoted A*STAR’s Singapore Immunology Network’s Ee Chee Ren as saying. This means Ryeowook has likely recuperated prior to the release of “Drunk on Love.”

Ryeowook’s first mini-album “The Little Prince” was released on January 28, 2016. It contained six songs namely “The Little Prince,” “Like a Star,” “Hello,” “People You May Know,” “POOM” and “Foxy Girl” featuring DinDin.

With a degree in Theater and Film, Ryeowook graduated from Inha University in Incheon, South Korea on February 24, 2012. He enlisted for his military service on October 11, 2016 and was discharged on July 10, 2018.

Including Ryeowook, Super Junior currently has 11 members. The group’s most recent studio album “Play” was released on November 6, 2017.

The other Super Junior members are Park Jung Soo (박정수), 35, Kim Hee Chul (김희철), 35, Kim Jong Hoon (김종훈), 34, Kim Young Woon (김영운), 33, Shin Dong Hee (신동희), 33, Lee Sung Min (이성민), 32, Lee Hyuk Jae (이혁재), 32, Choi Si Won (최시원), 32, Lee Dong Hae (이동해), 32, Cho Kyu Hyun (조규현), 30, Zhou Mi (周觅), 32, Liu Xian Hua (刘宪华), 29, Han Geng (韩庚), 34, and Kim Ki Bum (김기범), 31. Their respective stage names are Leeteuk (이특), Heechul (희철), Yesung (예성), Kangin (강인), Shindong (신동), Sungmin (성민), Eunhyuk (은혁), Siwon (시원), Donghae (동해), Kyuhyun (규현), Zhoumi (조미), Henry (헨리), Hankyung (한경), Kibum (기범).

Meanwhile, watch the special video of Ryeowook’s “One and Only” here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.