5 MTV EMA 2019 Generation Change Award honorees announced

Shiden Tekle, Lisa Ranran Hu, Alfredo Martinez, Kelvin Doe, Jamie Margolin

Shiden Tekle, Lisa Ranran Hu, Alfredo Martinez, Kelvin Doe, Jamie Margolin

MTV announced the five recipients of the 2019 MTV Europe Music Award Generation Change Award on October 29, 2019. The honorees are rap activist Alfredo “Danger” Martinez, 33, of Mexico, Legally Black UK co-creator Shiden Tekle, 20, of the United Kingdom, student filmmaker Lisa Ranran Hu, 20, of China, nonprofit founder Kelvin Doe, 22, of Sierra Leone and activist Jamie Margolin, 17, of the United States.

The 2019 MTV EMA Generation Change Award elevates and empowers fearless, original activists and youth leaders who are changing the world through music, storytelling and innovation. The campaign brings together the power of the MTV brand, Viacom’s resources and generational reach to engage with change makers and MTV’s audiences on the issues that matter most to them.

To inspire and inform this campaign, Viacom conducted a global research study. Results showed that 61 percent of young people believe it is their generation’s responsibility to fix the problems they have inherited.

Whether in their local community or at an international level, lack of support and resources was also the number 1 issue that young people said limits their power to create change. The data also reiterated the expectation and opportunity for corporations and brands to join young people in their quests for change.

The 2019 MTV EMA Generation Change Award winners will receive their awards from iconic MTV personality Sway Calloway during the 2019 MTV EMAs live red carpet pre-show in Seville, Spain on November 3, 2019. MTV International will make a monetary donation to each honoree’s organization and amplify their transformational work and unique stories across the brand’s social and digital platforms in nearly 180 countries.

On November 4, 2019, the 2019 MTV EMAs will broadcast live on MTV Asia  starting with the red carpet premiere at 2:00 a.m. (WIB), 3:00 a.m. (SG/MY/PH) and 4:00 a.m. (MY – Astro) followed by the main show at 3:00 a.m. (WIB), 4:00 a.m. (SG/MY/PH) and 5:00 a.m (MY – Astro). The primetime encore telecast will be on the same day with the red carpet at 7:00 p.m. (WIB) and 8.00 p.m. (SG/My/PH) and the main show at 7:50 p.m. (WIB) and 8:50 p.m. (SG/MY/PH).

Here is a clip featuring Martinez, Tekle, Hu, Doe and Margolin:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.