Melbourne, Australia’s Ilyssa Mendoza is Miss Philippines Earth-Eco Tourism 2020

Representing the Filipino community of Melbourne, Australia, Ilyssa Marie Mendoza, 19, almost won Miss Philippines Earth 2020. Crowned Miss Philippines Eco Tourism 2020, she was one of the runners-up of the environmental-themed contest, which marked her first ever beauty pageant.

The Filipino-Australian won in two preliminary events. She won bronze in both the long gown competition and the cultural attire competition.

Mendoza stands 5’6″ and is currently studying Dermal Science. She won the Miss Philippines Earth Melbourne title which led her to the Miss Philippines Earth 2020 competition.


Including Mendoza, 33 candidates competed in Miss Philippines Earth 2020. She succeeded Miss Philippines Eco Tourism 2019 Karen Nicole Piccio of Maasin, Iloilo.

It was Roxanne Allison Baeyens, 23, of Baguio City who won the Miss Philippines Earth 2020 title. The other runners-up were Miss Philippines Air 2020 Patrixia Shirley Santos, 27, of Daraga, Albay, Miss Philippines Water 2020 Maria Gianna Llanes, 24, of Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila and Miss Philippines Earth Fire 2020 Marie Sherry Ann “Shane” Quintana Tormes, 28, of Atimonan, Quezon.

Hosted by Paolo Bediones and aired on GMA Network, the Miss Philippines Earth 2020 coronation night was held virtually on July 5, 2020 because of the ongoing new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. It was the 20th edition of the beauty pageant.

Miss Earth 2005 Alexandra Braun, 37, of Venezuela and Miss Earth 2010 Nicole Faria, 30, of India were among the judges. Also in the panel of judges were Miss World Philippines 1975 Suzanne Talam Gonzalez-Gommer, GMA Network Inc. first vice president Jose Mari Abacan, Hana Shampoo maker Peerless Products marketing director Carlos Bacani and Maleki GmbH founder Matthias Gelber.

Hana Beauty, a special award from the major sponsor Hana Shampoo, Social Media Award and Miss Eco Award were given to Tormes, Baeyens and Lyka Chamberlaigneh Lagasca, 20, of La-lo, Cagayan, respectively. Alayyza Izzabelle Tolimao of South Cotabato, Tsina Jade Chu of Iloilo City, Angelina Mae Santos of Quezon City, Justiene Ortega of Manila City and Arielle Jazmine Roque of General Santos City finished in the Top 10.

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.