List of names of ABS-CBN franchise renewal voters


The House of Representatives of the Philippines has permanently shut down ABS-CBN Corp. On July 10, 2020, a total of 85 panel members were present to cast their votes whether or not to deny the media giant’s application for a 25-year license.

Out of the 85 panel members, 46 were regular members while 36 were ex-officio members. Some were physically present while the others attended virtually via the Zoom app.

Chaired by Palawan representative Franz Alvarez, the Philippines’ House Committee on Legislative Franchises needed 43 votes to get the majority to deny the franchise application ABS-CBN Corporation to construct, install, establish, operate and maintain radio and broadcasting stations in the Philippines. Here are the results:

Should ABS-CBN’s application for a new franchise be rejected?

1 lawmaker abstained from voting

  1. Ako Bicol Political Party (AKB) party-list’s Alfredo Garbin, Jr.

2 lawmakers voted to inhibit

  1. Nueva Ecija 2nd District’s Micaela Violago
  2. Quezon City 5th District’s Alfred Vargas

11 lawmakers voted NO:


  1. Batangas 4th District’s Lianda Bolilia
  2. Batangas 6th District’s Vilma Santos-Recto
  3. Camarines Sur 3rd District’s Gabriel Bordado Jr.
  4. Laguna 3rd District’s Sol Aragones
  5. Manila 4th District’s Edward Vera Perez Maceda
  6. Manila 6th District’s Bienvenido Abante Jr.
  7. Marikina 2nd District’s Stella Luz Quimbo
  8. Pangasinan 4th District’s Christopher “Toff” De Venecia



  1. Basilan’s Mujiv Hataman
  2. North Cotabato 3rd District’s Jose “Ping-Ping” Tejada


  1. Bayan Muna party-list’s Carlos Isagani Zarate

70 lawmakers voted YES:


  1. Batangas 2nd District’s Raneo Abu
  2. Batangas 3rd District’s Maria Theresa Collantes
  3. Bulacan 1st District’s Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado
  4. Calamba’s Joaquin Chipeco, Jr.
  5. Cagayan 2nd District’s Samantha Louise Vargas-Alfonso
  6. Caloocan 1st District’s Dale Malapitan
  7. Camarines Sur 2nd District’s Luis Villafuerte Jr. 
  8. Camarines Sur 3rd District’s Gabriel Bordado, Jr.
  9. Cavite 2nd District’s Strike Revilla
  10. Cavite 4th District’s Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
  11. Cavite 6th District’s Luis Ferrer IV
  12. Cavite 7th District’s Jesus Crispin Remulla
  13. Cavite 8th District’s Abraham Tolentino
  14. Ilocos Norte 1st District’s Ria Christina Fariñas
  15. Ilocos Sur 1st District’s Deogracias Victor Savellano
  16. Isabela 1st District’s Antonio Albano
  17. Isabela 3rd District’s Ian Paul Dy
  18. Isabella 4th District’s Alyssa Sheena Tan
  19. Isabela 5th District’s Faustino Michael Carlos Dy III
  20. Isabela 6th District’s Faustino Michael Dy V
  21. Las Piñas City’s Camille Villar
  22. Manila 2nd District’s Rolando Valeriano
  23. Manila 3rd District’s John Marvin Nieto
  24. Marikina City 1st District’s Bayani Fernando
  25. Palawan 2nd District’s Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
  26. Palawan 3rd District’s Gil Acosta
  27. Pampanga 2nd District’s Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
  28. Pampanga 4th District’s Juan Pablo Bondoc
  29. Pasay City’s Antonio Calixto (Josephine Veronique Lacson-Noel)
  30. Quezon City 1st District’s Anthony Peter Crisologo
  31. Quezon City 2nd District’s Precious H. Castelo
  32. Rizal 2nd District Juan Fidel Felipe F. Nograles (Ferdinand Hernandez)
  33. Romblon’s Eleandro Jesus Madrona
  34. Valenzuela 1st District’s Weslie Gatchalian
  35. Valenzuela 2nd District’s Eric Martinez


  1. Cebu 1st District’s Eduardo Gullas
  2. Cebu 3rd District’s Pablo John Garcia 
  3. Iloilo City’s Julienne Baronda
  4. Iloilo 1st District’s Janette Garin
  5. Leyte 1st District’s Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
  6. Negros Oriental 3rd District’s Arnolfo Teves, Jr.
  7. Samar 2nd District’s Sharee Ann Tan
  8. Southern Leyte’s Roger G. Mercado


  1. Camiguin’s Xavier Jesus Romualdo
  2. Cotabato 3rd District’s Jose Tejada
  3. Davao City 1st District’s Paolo “Pulong” Zimmerman Duterte
  4. Iligan’s Frederick Siao
  5. Maguindanao 2nd District’s Esmael “Toto” Mangudadatu
  6. Misamis Occidental 2nd District’s Henry Oaminal
  7. Misamis Oriental 1st District’s Christian Unabia
  8. Surigao del Norte 1st District’s Francisco Jose Matugas II (Johnny Pimentel)
  9. Zamboanga del Sur 1st District’s Divina Grace Yu
  10. Zamboanga Sibugay 1st District’s Wilter Palma II
  11. Zamboanga Sibugay 2nd District’s Dulce Ann Hofer


  1. Abang Lingkod party-list’s Joseph Stephen Paduano
  2. Abono party-list’s Conrado III M. Estrella
  3. ANAKALUSUGAN party-list’s Michael “Mike” Tan Defensor (Roberto Puno)
  4. Ang Asosasyon Sang Mangunguma Nga Bisaya-OWA, Mangunguma-Inc. (AAMBIS-OWA) party-list’s Sharon Garin
  5. Anti-Crime and Terrorism Community Involvement and Support (ACT-CIS) party-list Eric Go Yap
  6. Bagong Henerasyon (BH) party-list’s Bernadette Herrera-Dy
  7. Coalition of Associations of Senior Citizens in the Philippines (SENIOR CITIZENS) party-list’s Francisco Datol, Jr (Michael Romero)
  8. Dumper Philippines Taxi Drivers Association (DUMPER PTDA) party-list’s Claudine Diana Bautista
  9. Liquefied Petroleum Gas Marketers’ Association (LPGMA) party-list Allan Ty (Aurelio Gonzales Jr.)
  10. Marino party-list’s Sandro L. Gonzalez (Prospero Pichay Jr.)
  11. One Patriotic Coalition of Marginalized Nationals (1-Pacman) party-list’s Enrico Pineda
  12. Probinsyano Ako party-list’s Jose Singson Jr.
  13. SAGIP party-list’s Rodante Marcoleta
  14. Puwersa ng Bayang Atleta (PBA) party-list’s Jericho Jonas Nograles
  15. Tingog Sinirangan party-list’s Yedda Marie Romualdez
  16. Trade Union Congress Party (TUCP) party-list’s Raymond Democrito Mendoza

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.