ball sports

Denmark’s Rasmus Højgaard at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Rasmus Højgaard, 19, is the sole representative of Denmark in the 2020 United States Open Championship. Including the Danish golfer, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S.

Højgaard and his twin brother Nicolai Højgaard, also a professional golfer, were born on March 12, 2001 in Denmark. They played together as a pair in the 2018 Junior Ryder Cup in Marne-la-Vallée, Paris, France.

In July 2016, Rasmus won the Danish International Amateur Championship in Silkeborg, Denmark. In June 2018, he won the individual competition for the boys division of the TOYOTA Junior Golf World Cup in Toyota City, Aichi-Prefecture, Japan, four strokes ahead of Nicolai.

In 2019, Rasmus turned professional and won the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open in Bel-Ombre, Mauritius before the year ended, making him the first golfer born in the 2000s to win on the European Tour. On August 30, 2020, he won the ISPS Handa UK Championship in Wishaw, Warwickshire, England.

Denmark has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. The annual golf competition was established in 1895.


The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. The last time the tournament was held there was in 2006 when Geoff Ogilvy, 43, of Australia won with a score of 5 over par.

Including Denmark and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.