ball sports

Mexico’s Abraham Ancer at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Abraham Ancer, 29, is the sole representative of Mexico in the 2020 United States Open Championship. Including the Mexican-American golfer, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S.

Ancer was born in McAllen, Texas, USA to Mexican parents Abraham Ancer and Veronica Ancer on February 27, 1991. His father died in 2014.

After growing up in Reynosa, Mexico, Abraham moved to the U.S. He attended Odessa College in Odessa, Texas and the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma, USA and played college golf in both schools.

In 2013, Abraham earned his bachelor’s degree in general studies from the University of Oklahoma and made his professional golf debut. Most recently, he was runner-up to Webb Simpson, 35, of the U.S. in the 2020 RBC Heritage in South Carolina, USA.

Mexico has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. The annual golf competition was established in 1895.


The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. The last time the tournament was held there was in 2006 when Geoff Ogilvy, 43, of Australia won with a score of 5 over par.

Including Mexico and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.