KLPGA HFG Championship 2020 round 1: Jin Young Ko, Ha Na Jang tie in the lead

Jin Young Ko

Jin Young Ko

The first round of the Korea Ladies Professional Golf Association (KLPGA) Hana Financial Group (HFG) Championship 2020 took place in Incheon, South Korea on November 5, 2020. The tournament is broadcast live in 17 countries across Asia Pacific region including Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

World number 1 Jin Young Ko and defending champion Ha Na Jang are currently tied in the lead. The former said she played really well for the first half but her accuracy dropped as she went into the second half.

“Luckily, I managed to get my game up and I was happy to finish the last hole with a birdie,” Ko said. While she has been playing golf for a long time, she recently realized that it’s not possible to correct her golf swing to make it perfect.

Ko is satisfied with her wedge shots in the first round. For her, the putts could have been better but she thinks it will get better as the tournament continues. 

Ha Na Jang

Ha Na Jang

For Jang, the first round was pretty easy. At the same time, she was a little  embarrassed by the bogey that she made in the first half of the game.

“I had some difficulties in stamina but I was able to enjoy the game with the support of my caddie,” Jang explained. “I have high hopes for  the remaining three rounds and I will try to keep the same performance as today for the remaining rounds.”

Since Jang’s win on the first day of November, she was given the moniker The Autumn Queen. She commented, “I had faith in my shots and try not to think of making missed shots.”

“I think this led me to  have a pretty easy round today,” Jang continued. “I will work harder for the remaining season in order to add one  more win this season.” 

Among the Asian broadcasters carrying the broadcast of the tournament are Singtel in Singapore, Hong Kong Cable in Hong Kong, True Vision in Thailand, Euro Sports in India and Astro in Malaysia. Among Ko and Jang’s opponents are Da Yeon Lee, Hee Jeong Lim, Hye Jin Choi, Hyo Joo Kim, Hyun Kyung Park, Jeong Eun Lee, Ji Hyun Kim, Julie Kim, Jung Ji Yu, Min Sun Kim, Na Rin An, Seo Jin Park, So Yeon Ryu, Song Yi Ahn, Sui Xiang and Yoon Kyung Heo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.