beauty pageants

Miss World 2021 coronation night in San Juan, Puerto Rico postponed


Miss World 2019 Toni-Ann Singh, 25, of Jamaica will crown her successor at the José Miguel Agrelot Coliseum in San Juan, Puerto Rico in 2022. It will be the 70th edition of the oldest active international beauty pageant, which was created by Eric Morley in 1951.

On December 14, 2019, Singh was crowned Miss World 2019 at the ExCel London in London, England, United Kingdom. Ophély Mézino, 22, of France was first runner-up while Suman Rao, 22, of India was second runner-up.

Singh was not able to crown her successor in 2020 due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. She holds the record of the longest completed Miss World reign.

Singh was supposed to crown her successor on December 16, 2021. But on that day, it was announced that the coronation night would be rescheduled.

On December 14, 2021, Miss World Indonesia 2021 Carla Yules, 21, tested positive for COVID-19 and on December 15, 2021, the Puerto Rico Department of Health confirmed that there are 17 Miss World 2021 candidates and technical personnel who tested positive. On December 16, 2021, it was announced that Miss World Malaysia 2021 Lavanya Sivaji, 25, tested positive, as well.

“Miss World 2021 temporarily postpones global broadcast finale in Puerto Rico due to health and safety interest of contestants, staff, crew and general public,” the Miss World organization announced. “The finale will be rescheduled at Puerto Rico Coliseum Jose Miguel Agrelot within the next 90 days.”


Fernando Allende, 69, Peter Andre, 48, and Miss World 2016 Stephanie del Valle, 24, will host the Miss World 2021 coronation night. The three hosted the Miss World 2019 coronation night along with Miss World 2013 Megan Young, 31.

There are 97 women competing for the Miss World 2021 crown. So far, 15 of the 30 quarterfinalists have been announced:

  1. Palesa Mofele (Botswana)
  2. Audrey Monkam (Cameroon)
  3. Olivia Yacé (Cote d’Ivoire)
  4. Rehemia Muthamia (England)
  5. Manasi Varnasi (India)
  6. Sharon Obara (Kenya)
  7. Karolina Vidales (Mexico)
  8. Burte-Ujin Anu (Mongolia)
  9. Namrata Shrestha (Nepal)
  10. Sheynnis Palacios (Nicaragua)
  11. Bethania Borba (Paraguay)
  12. Tracy Maureen Perez (Philippines)
  13. Shudufadzo Musida (South Africa)
  14. Shree Saini (United States)
  15. Alejandra Conde (Venezuela)

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.