Russia’s list of unfriendly countries, territories


Economic sanctions were imposed on Moscow, Russia after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Signed on March 5, 2022, a presidential decree allows the Russian government, companies and citizens to use roubles to pay foreign currency debts owed to overseas creditors from unfriendly countries and territories.

The arrangement is only temporary. It applies to payments that exceed 10 million roubles ($76,000) a month.


On March 7, 2022, Moscow approved a list of countries and territories taking unfriendly actions against Russia, its companies and its citizens amid the Russia-Ukraine conflict. Here is the list:

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Australia
  4. Canada
  5. Great Britain (Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar, England, Jersey, Scotland, Wales)
  6. European Union (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden)
  7. Iceland
  8. Japan
  9. Liechtenstein
  10. Micronesia
  11. Monaco
  12. Montenegro
  13. New Zealand
  14. Norway
  15. South Korea
  16. San Marino
  17. North Macedonia
  18. Singapore
  19. Switzerland
  20. Taiwan
  21. United States
  22. Ukraine

On February 24, 2022, Russia’s president Vladimir Putin, 69, ordered his country’s armed forces to invade Ukraine. Russian tanks entered Ukraine via the border in Belarus.

Because of the attack, Putin’s Ukrainian counterpart Volodymyr Zelenskyy, 44, declared martial law throughout Ukraine. Amid the ongoing conflict, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Romania and the United Kingdom closed their airspace to Russian airlines.

On February 27, 2022, Canada, the U.K., the U.S. and the European Union banned certain Russian banks from the Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT). On March 2, 2022, China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission chairman Guo Shuqing (郭树清), 65, said China would not join the group of countries punishing Russia through financial sanctions.

Categories: Europe, LISTS, Russia, Ukraine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.