MMA Super Cup 2022 semifinals results in Bahrain


Organized by BRAVE Combat Federation as part of BRAVE International Combat Week, the MMA Super Cup presents the some of the strongest, national amateur mixed martial arts teams in the world, according to the International Mixed Martial Arts Federation (IMMAF) World Amateur MMA rankings alongside wildcard teams. The teams will be facing off to determine the greatest nations in MMA.

Cash prizes are $100,000, $75,000 and $50,000 for first, second and third place, respectively. The prize money is intended to fund the development of the next generation of MMA athletes in the winning nations through their IMMAF-affiliated national federations.

MMA Super Cup Trophy
MMA Super Cup Trophy

In cooperation with the IMMAF and the Khalid Bin Hamad Sports Organization (KHK SPORTS), the MMA Super Cup 2022 is being held at BRAVE International Fight Week 2022 under the patronage of His Highness Shaikh Khalid bin Hamad Al Khalifa, who is Bahrain’s Supreme Council for Youth and Sports first deputy president, General Sports Authority president and Olympic Committee president. The first day of fights has concluded in Bahrain.

The semifinals took place on March 10, 2022. Here are the results:


  • 56.7kg (f): Eabha Cruise (Ireland) vs Violeta Mendoza Corral (Mexico)
  • 61.2kg (f): Kerry Ann Vernon (Ireland) vs Andrea Gabriela Guzman Salazar (Mexico)
  • 61.2kg (m): Jamie Abbott Bissett (Ireland) vs Jorge Cobos Marin (Mexico)
  • 65.8kg (m): Jordan Bradshaw (Ireland) vs Victor Gerardo Quintana Vazquez (Mexico)
  • 70.3kg (m): Lewis Byrne (Ireland) vs Luis Enrique Gonzalez Martinez (Mexico)
  • 77.1kg (m): Jordan Furey (Ireland) vs Israel Salcido Rodriguez (Mexico)
  • 83.9kg (m): Conor McCarthy (Ireland) vs Cruz Emmanuel Garcia Gonzalez (Mexico)
  • 93kg (m): Dennis Perry (Ireland) vs Miguel Angel Serna Castro (Mexico)
  • 120.2kg (m): Gustavo Lopez (Ireland) vs Daniel Flores Sartorius (Mexico)

Ireland faced Mexico in the first semi-final of the day. Mexico got off to an early lead through Violeta Mendoza Corral who showcased some impressive striking in her win. Mexico went 3-1 in the first four fights and it was looking as if Mexico were on route to the final. Kerry Ann Vernon picked up Ireland’s first win of the day scoring a highlight-reel TKO/KO win in her first fight of the competition.

Trailing by two, Lewis Byrne kicked off Ireland’s resurgence. Welterweight fighter Jordan Furey built on that by adding another finish to his record to level things. In the final push, Conor McCarthy stepped up to Middleweight for the first time and outpointed his opponent to give Ireland the lead.

Denis Perry solidified Ireland’s spot in the final with a fight to spare, bouncing back from a loss yesterday. His Americana submission completed Ireland’s comeback following a nervy start. Mexico will still have the opportunity to leave with some prize money as they compete in the third-place playoff on Saturday. 


  • 56.7kg (f): Ayan Tursyn (Kazakhstan) vs Aieza Ramos Bertozo (Bahrain)
  • 61.2kg (f): Antonina Kotlyarevskaya (Kazakhstan) vs Sabrina Laurentina de Souza (Bahrain)
  • 61.2kg (m): Zhanibek Tynyshtyk (Kazakhstan) vs Abdulla Mubarak (Bahrain)
  • 65.8kg (m): Anatoliy Zolotykh (Kazakhstan) vs Haji Mohamed Ali (Bahrain)
  • 70.3kg (m): Neimat Assadov (Kazakhstan) vs Kurban Idrisov (Bahrain)
  • 77.1kg (m): Zhaxybek Aimakhanov (Kazakhstan) vs Ramazan Gitinov (Bahrain)
  • 83.9kg (m): Vakhid Timerbiyev (Kazakhstan) vs Sultan Omarov (Bahrain)
  • 93kg (m): Alik Domnich (Kazakhstan) vs Gadzhi Gadzhiev (Bahrain)
  • 120.2kg (m): Rassul Khatayev (Kazakhstan) vs Sultan Gapizov (Bahrain)

Host nation Bahrain faced stiff opposition for the second day in a row, this time in the form of a Kazakhstan team that went undefeated in the quarter-finals. Bahrain took an early lead through two consecutive armbar victories through Aieza Ramos Bertozo and Sabrina De Sousa, the former upsetting IMMAF standout Ayan Tursyn.

Kazakhstan had a bye in the men’s Bantamweight division before winning their next two fights. This included a Neimat Assadov split decision win over 2021 IMMAF Lightweight World Champions Kurban Idrisov to put them in the lead. Ramazan Gitinov eased some of the pressure on Bahrain soon after, out-grappling his opponent before locking in a rear-naked choke in the second round to extend his incredible winning streak to 21. 

Sultan Omarov and Gadzhi Gadzhiev sealed the two all-important victories for Bahrain to send them through to the final with a fight to spare. Ghadzhiev found himself in some tough spots against a tough Alik Domnich but overcame adversity to take home a split decision victory.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.