beauty pageants

Vietnam’s SEA Games 2019 muse is Miss Asia Pacific International 2018 Sharifa Akeel

Sharifa Areef Mohammad Omar Akeel

Sharifa Areef Mohammad Omar Akeel

Miss Asia Pacific International 2018 Sharifa Areef Mohammad Omar Akeel, 22, will serve as the muse of Vietnam at the Southeast Asian Games 2019. The biennial regional multi-sport event will take place in the Philippines from November 30, 2019 to December 11, 2019.

As the muse of Vietnam, Akeel will participate in the traditional athlete’s parade during the opening ceremony of the SEA Games 2019 at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan, Philippines on November 30, 2019. She and her fellow muses will wear gowns designed by Eric Pineda.

Vietnam is home to ONE Championship fighters Martin “The Situ-Asian” Nguyen, 30, Bi “Killer Bee” Nguyen, 29, and “No. 1” Nguyễn Trần Duy Nhất, 30, Miss Universe 2018 finalist H’Hen Niê, 26. The country will compete against Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Timor Leste at the SEA Games 2019.


Born in Lebak, Sultan Kudarat, Philippines, Akeel is of Qatari and Filipino descent. She was crowned Mutya ng Pilipinas-Asia Pacific International 2018 on September 16, 2019 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City, Metro Manila, Philippines and Miss Asia Pacific International 2018 in the New Performing Arts Theater of Resorts World Manila in Pasay City on October 4, 2018.

Like Akeel, all of the SEA Games 2019 muses are crowned Filipino beauty queens. Check the list on Manila Herald.

During the SEA Games 2019 opening ceremony, the controversial cauldron, which is worth 56 million pesos, will be lit at the New Clark City sports complex in Capas, Tarlac, Philippines. The venue is located more than 70 km away from the Philippine Arena.

Several Filipino musicians will perform during the opening ceremony. Among them are Allan “” Pineda Lindo, 44, of The Black Eyed Peas, Lani Misalucha, 50, Jed Madela, 42, Christian Bautista, 38, KZ Tandingan, 27, Aicelle Santos, 34, Elmo Magalona, 25, Iñigo Pascual, 22, Ana Fegi, 42, Robert Seña, 50, and the TNT Boys Keifer Sanchez, 14, Mackie Empuerto, 14, and Francis Concepcion, 13.

Philippines’ National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab wrote the theme song of the SEA Games 2019, which was performed by Lea Salonga. Here is the music video:

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.