North America

2019-2020 NBA Season to restart with 22 teams after COVID-19 hiatus


Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 2019-2020 season of the National Basketball Association temporarily stopped on March 11, 2020. But on June 4, 2020, the association’s board of governors approved a competitive format to restart the season with 22 teams.

According to NBA commissioner Adam Silver, the board’s approval of the format is a necessary step toward restarting the 2019-2020 NBA Season. He said amid the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic, the association is “hopeful of finishing the season in a safe and responsible manner based on strict protocols now being finalized with public health officials and medical experts.”

The tentative start date of the 2019-2020 NBA Season restart is on July 31, 2020. The Finals would end on or before October 12, 2020.

NBA fans can expect the game schedule in the next few days, which means odds for the games will also be released soon. For those who want to find out what the game odds are once they are released, this page here will be automatically updated once the data is available. For convenience, keep it bookmarked so it is in one place.

In the approved format, each of the 22 returning teams would play eight seeding games before starting a traditional, 16-team, conference-based NBA playoffs with four rounds and best-of-seven series in each round. Selected from a team’s remaining regular-season matchups, the seeding games are the eight remaining games every returning team would play before the start of the playoffs.

Out of the 22 returning teams, 16 are currently in playoff positions while the other six are currently six games or fewer behind the eighth seed in their respective conferences. Here is the list:

Eastern Conference

  1. Boston Celtics
  2. Brooklyn Nets
  3. Indiana Pacers
  4. Miami Heat
  5. Milwaukee Bucks
  6. Orlando Magic
  7. Philadelphia 76ers
  8. Toronto Raptors
  9. Washington Wizards

Western Conference

  1. Dallas Mavericks
  2. Denver Nuggets
  3. Houston Rockets
  4. LA Clippers
  5. Los Angeles Lakers
  6. Memphis Grizzlies
  7. New Orleans Pelicans
  8. Oklahoma City Thunder
  9. Phoenix Suns
  10. Portland Trail Blazers
  11. Sacramento Kings
  12. San Antonio Spurs
  13. Utah Jazz

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.