ball sports

Jon Rahm, Rafa Cabrera Bello among Spanish golfers at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Jon Rahm, 25, and Rafael “Rafa” Cabrera Bello, 36, are among the seven golfers from Spain participating in the 2020 United States Open Championship. The others are Adrián Otaegui, 27, Eduard Rousaud, 20, and Sergio García, 40.

Born in Barrika, Basque Country, Spain on November 10, 1994, Rahm attended Arizona State University inTempeArizona, USA and turned professional in 2016. He won the Zurich Classic of New Orleans on April 28, 2019, the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open on July 7, 2019, the Memorial Tournament on July 19, 2020, Mutuactivos Open de España on October 6, 2019, DP World Tour Championship, Dubai on November 24, 2019 and the BMW Championship on August 30, 2020.

Cabrera-Bello, who was born in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria, Spain on May 25, 1984, turned professional in 2005 and currently plays on the European Tour. He won the Austrian Golf Open on September 20, 2009, the Omega Dubai Desert Classic on February 12, 2012 and the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open on July 16, 2017.


The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. This is the first time the U.S. Open was held in the month of September since 1913.

Spain has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. Including the Rahm, Cabrera Bello, Otaegui, Rousaud and Sergio García, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S., which was established in 1895.


Including Spain and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile,  Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.