ball sports

Slovakia’s Rory Sabbatini at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Rory Sabbatini, 44, is the sole representative of Slovakia in the 2020 United States Open Championship. Including the Slovak golfer, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S.

Born in Durban, South Africa, Sabbatini is of Italian, Scottish and Irish descent. In 2019, he changed his citizenship from South African to Slovak, the citizenship of his wife Martina Stofanikova.

Sabbatini attended the University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona, USA. He turned professional in 1998, was the youngest member of the PGA Tour in 1999 and went on to represent South Africa in the World Cup six times.

Representing South Africa, Sabbatini won The Honda Classic on March 6, 2011. On December 15, 2019, he and his partner Kevin Tway, 32, of the U.S. won the QBE Shootout.

Slovakia has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. The annual golf competition was established in 1895.

The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. The last time the tournament was held there was in 2006 when Geoff Ogilvy, 43, of Australia won with a score of 5 over par.

Including Slovakia and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile,  Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.